top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Wild Geese

I loved to watch them fly, those wild geese. 


In my dreams, I was one of them. I felt the magic, the way to catch the wind, to soar above the roads packed with cars and trucks, all filled with angry people stuck, stuck, stuck. 


I woke up every morning, arms splayed, sheets kicked off the bed. 


As the days passed, I was certain I could hear something as I walked past the geese swimming in the lake. And I felt – lighter.


The days grew colder. Something was changing. I was changing. I was getting restless, and I was still hearing that something, something that was becoming clearer. The wild geese could hear it, too.


Something told the wild geese it was time to fly. 



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Too Much

Your promises were sugar-sweet. They stuck in my throat and on the walls. Some of them dribbled on the floor. Not only did they make me ill, the dogs got diarrhea. Please don’t bother to come back. Th

What the Future Looks Like

The future has what-a-body and a fantastic haircut. She wears runway clothes from an unpronounceable designer. The future is featured in every oh-my-look-at-that magazine. She offers me comfort in her

Raspberries in February

Raspberries frozen in a bag, that plunk and bounce on tabletop are not the same as plucked fresh from a ripening bush. A little squish, a little warm, a little juice trail down my chin. Much better th

bottom of page