top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Wanderer

Perhaps it was a bird call

that stopped me washing floors,

and had me pack a knapsack

full of everything I owned.


I followed shafts of sunlight.

I followed daisy chains.

I followed clouds and rainbows.

I followed squirrels and wolves.


I never followed beaten paths.

I never slept in beds.

I never stopped for idle talk.

I walked through snow and rain.


Though I am old with wandering,

I wouldn’t trade a day

I spent out under open sky

for roof and floor and fire.



inspired by:

“The Song of Wandering Aengus” by William Butler Yeats,

using the line “Though I am old with wandering”


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Indulging

I left him at the altar before the music played. With running shoes below my gown, I grabbed the chocolates on the tables, made it out the door. I was on the bus before he knew the day was off. I’ll e

Wreck

My counter sags under a 16-ounce bitter brew that drowns the lies I tell myself to crawl through another morning. I tape on a flypaper smile to trap the insults before they speed through the streets,

Which Way?

My bottom sheet is tagged TOP OR BOTTOM to avoid the confusion I feel whenever I change the sheets. If it is top, is that not where it belongs? Or does it not know it should leap below when I am fast

bottom of page