top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

September 2024 Feature




On a Roll


I rattle through my broken vows

in this barrel of regrets.


I pray for rain to wash away

my excuses and pretensions.


I pray that I can roll away

before I’m followed by a mob


of disappointed sorrows

armed with matches and a rope.


***

Sloughing My Skin


If only fear was makeup,

I could wipe it off my face.


Instead I shudder, stuck in the shadows.

Fear is the skin I cannot slough.


***

A Tune I Can’t Carry


I’d sing a song to summer

if it wasn’t for the heat.

My brain is melted ice cream.

My vocal cords are crispy critters

on the barbeque.

Birds and bees and butterflies

and flowers shout instead

in brilliant reds and yellows,

in oranges and purples.

Thunderstorms and rain are drum

beats to this cacophony

until autumn cools its heels

and leaves of red and gold blow in

to sweep away the chorus.


***

Seriously Disgusting 

(to the tune of “My Favorite Things”)


Braunschweiger smears 

march on handles and faucets.

Food grows and hardens 

on microwave innards.

Stovetop was white, 

but it’s crusted with crud.

“House Beautiful” would vamoose from this mess.


***

Eye Spy


He spies on me

beneath the bed,

on top a shelf,

or from a drawer.

I have to check 

the washing machine

for secret agent kitty.


***

Yarrow


You pick yellow yarrow

for the bottle

in your window.

When the rain clouds

darken love to sorrow,

yarrow is the sunlight

in the sky.


***

Upside Down


The rainbow in the puddle

is your upside-down smile

the rain brought 

to remind me 

that nothing

can wash 

away love.


***

I Didn’t Understand


You tried to tell me

that the other dog left

poop inside the closet.

I thought you were annoying

and I didn’t understand

until I went to change clothes

and found out for myself.


***

Providence


I must have known 

you in a past life,

so familiar is your touch.

I find comfort in your presence.

Unexpected blessing

when I thought I’d never

have a second chance.


published in Medusa's Kitchen:

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page