top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Poems on Time (August 2024 Feature)



Up and Down


Once was waves and boats,

then diving underwater

for a swim among the fish.

Air depleting, back to boat,

an up-and-down ride home.


Now I watch the flowers

sprout, the trees leaf out, 

the bees and butterflies return.

Then the flowers wither,

leaves fall down.


***

Not So Much Fun


We didn’t worry about cancer when I was a child,

I frolicked in bathing suits each summer.

Now I’m all covered, no body parts showing,

in case I start glowing or growing something alien.

There’s no such thing as fun in the sun.


***

Not Lost


We traveled through a strange town at sundown.

As we passed the same people 

on the same corner for the third time, 

our gas tank nearly empty. My husband said,

“Who needs maps? We’re not lost, we’re touring.”


published in Medusa's Kitchen:



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page