top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

My Body Has Coffee With Love



Love whispers forever. It learned 

to lie from my younger self.

That self that didn’t break from scrapes

from falling on the concrete.


This old bag of bones, this stranger

that snuck in while I was asleep,

feels the weight of gravity

more than lightheaded love.


This old bag of bones crumbles

from maladies foreign

to my younger self, who cried

only from a broken heart.


This old bag of bones wants to run

from a truth it learns the hard way.

We’re not meant to last forever

in living or in love.


For endings:


published in Substack:

21 views17 comments

Recent Posts

See All

17 Comments


Exit Onpch
Exit Onpch
Sep 19

finely crafted ~ grapeling

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
Sep 22
Replying to

Thanks, Exit!

Like

Guest
Sep 19

An inescapable truth and disappointment that ripples from it.

~Li from tao-talk

Like

Guest
Sep 19

Love your perspective. It is a gift to learn from hindsight, which may include mistakes. Nothing lasts forever. -Grace

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
Sep 22
Replying to

Thank you, Grace! I'd like to have a little more foresight so that I don't have to learn from my hindsight. Ah, well.

Like

Björn Rudberg
Björn Rudberg
Sep 18

Nothing really lasts forever... indeed

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
Sep 22
Replying to

You're so right, Björn!

Like

Guest
Sep 18

Nice title and I enjoyed reading the poem. It's sublime. :)

-kittysverses

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
Sep 22
Replying to

Thanks, Kitty!

Like
bottom of page