top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Masticadores Saturday 8/17/24

Updated: Aug 18



Lights When I drive home on dusky roads, I look up to see the stars that mirror city lights. When I am free of gravity, I float in dreams above the streetlights, headlights, store lights twinkling in the night. Consider this: awake, asleep, I am one light in motion through the galaxy.


published in MasticadoresUSA:


***

Birth Name

 

I was born a fiction,

a death, a hardship,

a drowning, cholera,

thunder, hail, rain.

 

No wonder I catastrophize.


I’m a dream, as well.

Each day, two suns wake me.

A warm hearth and hot coals.

I survive with an umbrella

and ibuprofen. At times,

life support.


Like hot coffee and chocolate.


I rebirth with dark coffee 

and darker chocolate

I cradle in front 

of  a hot-coal 

hearth every morning.

Each new self

should have a new name.

Wow, that’s lots

of names to remember.


Does each new sun 

have a name? 

All the billions of suns.

All the billions of us.

Do mothers hear the sun

whisper our names?

Is the sun the keeper 

of self?


written by Barbara Leonhard (italicized text) and me, included in our book "Too Much Fun to Be Legal"


published in MasticadoresUSA:


***

Glazed


Your eyes are glazed donuts,

pricked by thistles of thoughts

that haunt your dreams years later.


I’ve no bacon to go with my eggs.

I don’t eat bacon.


It would be haunting to eat piglets.

      At least no living thing dies

when we eat glazed donuts—just dreams.


How many calories in dreams?

Nom, nom, nom.


I jog ten miles per hour,

fiercely pounding the pavement

                                   in my sleep.


I run with a donut in one hand and 

           a calorie counter in the other.


written by Melissa Lemay, Barbara Leonhard and me


published in Hotel by Masticadores:


reblogged in:

2 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


kuldiga.1
Aug 20

So interesting...the first, un merveille...! As we say, can't quite get the English word...a bright pearl...2nd I see how the collaboration works, seamlessly, brings in different tone, angle, third, back down to earth with a bang...

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
Aug 21
Replying to

It was a coincidence that they all published on the same day. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the poems! I love collaborating.

Like
bottom of page