top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Love Sticks

Updated: Aug 24



Mothering


I hear my mother’s

whisper in my mind

each time I think

of trying something new.

Stay alert. This world’s

not safe. Don’t take

chances that might

harm you. I can’t

be here to protect you.

Be attentive, be aware.

Know that those you 

trust the most 

will be the first

to break your heart.


 

Sticky


Sticky stuff grabs hold of my slippers,

won’t let them go. I grab a flashlight,

trace its footsteps up the oven,

to the burners dripping grease

and gooey goo. Sticky stuff

types up a ransom note

for my slippers, but I grab some

household cleaner meant

to vanquish grime forever.

Sticky stuff lets go of my slippers,

slithers out the back door,

taking with it the oven, floor,

half my patience,

and the concrete walkway

as it flows.



published in Author Lifestyle and Book Talk Magazine: Edition 2



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page