top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

If I had an extra November day



I’d play in the leaves

I piled up the day before,

eat another slice

of pecan pie.

I’d light the candle

in the pumpkin

one more night.

How nice to have

an extra day of fall

before the winter

lays its icy hand upon

the barren branches.


A day to lay aside 

those things I’ve buried inside

my closets, drawers and cedar chest.

Forgotten bits of my life,

bundles of burdens,

to stow into recycling bags

as I’ve outgrown my past.


All those things I’ve stuffed 

inside my chest, the past

that weighs me down,

I open my mouth, let fly

what I’ve outgrown

on this November 31.


Let fly like bluebirds

singing hope and joy

on this mysterious day

suddenly visible.

Just for me?

A gift of extra time.


a collaboration with Barbara Leonhard and me, published in:

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page