top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

I Had to Eat Vegetables After You Died

Updated: Aug 22



Vegetables. You always worried about me eating enough vegetables. I eat them now, I promise. I salt them with my tears.


I eat all vegetables except broccoli. Broccoli is grief, green corrugated cardboard I choke on. It tastes awful raw. It clogs up the garbage disposal. It doesn’t fit in the trash. I’m substituting brussel sprouts instead. But I still find broccoli in the refrigerator.


I tried to stuff my life into the microwave, since it’s zapped without you. But it didn’t fit. I steam my vegetables in the microwave instead. 


I don’t bread or fry my vegetables. My brain is fried, so I eat my head.


My head is a brussel sprout. I eat it salted.


published in Scuzzbucket




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page