top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Dusty Sorbet



Road dust gathers into a heavy skirt 

around the old oak on a humid night 

under the sorbet sky melting into moon


Nothing worse than sorbet splattered

on a hot summer sidewalk


That thick sticky dust kicked up by passing cars 

now dressing my yard in tired memories held down 

by my tears, so how can I rise from this malaise?


My dust-covered memories aren’t washed

clean by dirty rain. I might as well admit it’s dementia.


Dementia. Or simply a dream about my heart dueling my 

mind. The sorbet sunlight, melting on hot asphalt. 

Oak trees trimmed in Sunday’s finest: road dust. 


Forget the sorbet. I want Death by Chocolate cheesecake.

Even if I have to eat it off a dusty floor.


a collaboration with Barbara Leonhard, published on Substack:

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page