top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Blown Away

We divided what was left of him,

and then divided that.

He was tossed to ocean

and to mountains by

the trails as if we needed him

to sail off, as if we needed

to erase his suicide, forget his cries

for help disguised in ways

we could not hear.

Mom kept his urn of what

was left, she played

him Schubert, Mozart,

played her heartstrings

til the day her home burned 

down and ashes joined

with ashes in the wind.


published on Imogene's Notebook

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wanderer

Perhaps it was a bird call that stopped me washing floors, and had me pack a knapsack full of everything I owned. I followed shafts of sunlight. I followed daisy chains. I followed clouds and rainbows

Wild Geese

I loved to watch them fly, those wild geese. In my dreams, I was one of them. I felt the magic, the way to catch the wind, to soar above the roads packed with cars and trucks, all filled with angry pe

Other Days

When I was young, I thought I was the best at everything I did, and I could do it all alone, no help from anyone. But everything is too much work and boring when it’s only me. Enthusiasm faded, I was

bottom of page