top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Autumn Dream



Leaves dress up in lipstick red and lemon gold to dance in wind that chills the bones. One by one, leaves kiss the ground, goodbye to summer’s blooms. Too soon, the leaves will crinkle brown and crumble to the touch. Autumn isn’t long enough to tire of time that turns to ash in fireplaces, not long enough to pull out sweaters hidden from the heat. I’d like more days of sun that slants and sleeps in teacups cooling in my hands. Autumn is a dream that ends in white.


Too soon 

I’ll wake 

to flakes of snow.  


inspired by:


published in Substack:

19 views23 comments

Recent Posts

See All

23 Comments


Guest
3 days ago

HI Nolcha, this is a wonderful haibun. I am not a fan of autumn because winter comes next. I don't like cold weather. Robbie

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
3 days ago
Replying to

We moved from Los Angeles, the land of no seasons, to Wyoming, with four seasons (more, if you count tourist season, fly season, construction season.....) I enjoy the seasonal changes, but not always everything that goes with each season. I don't mind winter when I'm inside and cozy warm.

Like

Guest
3 days ago

"Autumn is a dream that ends in white."

True. :)


-kittysverses


Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
3 days ago
Replying to

Thank you, Kitty! I'd like that dream to last longer.

Like

kimberly.ann.glover
3 days ago

I love the elegant simplicity of y9ur haiku.

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
3 days ago
Replying to

Thank you, Kim!

Like

Guest
4 days ago

i adore the image of sunlight sleeping in a teacup! thank you! <3 xx, ren https://therenclub.wordpress.com/2024/09/24/kiss-me-a-promise/

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
3 days ago
Replying to

I commented on your poem in your blog. I subscribed, so I'm looking forward to enjoying more of your poetry!

Like

Guest
4 days ago

Such melancholy! I know many of us have said how much we love autumn, but like you, I can't help but feel apprehension for what's ahead. (Jane)

Like
Nolcha Fox
Nolcha Fox
3 days ago
Replying to

Thank you, Jane! If it weren't for the ice I can't see, winter would be just dandy. I'm not anxious to fall again and break more bones.

Edited
Like
bottom of page