top of page
Image by Cora Leach
  • Writer's pictureNolcha Fox

Austin-Healey

Updated: Aug 22



You loved driving that Austin-Healey, top down, wind blowing your hair back. You grinned between puffs on your cigar. The canyon was yours to wind around your finger. The road was yours to another place. A place that only looked like the beach. It was a place where you were free of wife, children, job, and chores you listed and color-coded but never did. 


I visit your grave and wonder if you’re smoking a cigar while you drive that Austin-Healey on the serpentine roads of the Great Beyond. I wonder if you drive too close to the car in front while you point to the canyon below.


I wonder if I’ll join you for a road trip when I die, hanging on in terror in the back seat.


published in Write Under the Moon



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page